Musica Scotica

Musica Scotica promotes the scholarly study and performance of Scottish music and musicians.

We contribute to the maintenance of Scotland’s musical heritage, from the earliest written sources to the present, by advancing knowledge and by making rarer and neglected sources available and accessible. 

The core of our work is a series of performing editions and historical studies.  In addition, we encourage performances and recordings of this repertoire. 

We also organize conferences, symposia and study days on all aspects of music and musicians in and from Scotland, and promote further knowledge exchange and learning through social media and mailing lists.  

Musica Scotica was established in 1996 by the late Dr Kenneth Elliott (1929–2011).  The current board comprises leading academics and performers working in Scotland and internationally.  We are registered as a charity in Scotland, No. SCO31930.

Twitter @musicascotica

Trustees and Board

Chair and General Editor: Dr Gordon Munro (Royal Conservatoire of Scotland)

Treasurer: Dave Crichton

Secretary: Prof Richard McGregor (University of Cumbria)


Dr Graham Hair (University of Glasgow) 

Dr Greta-Mary Hair (University of Edinburgh)

Dr Elaine Moohan (The Open University)

Dr Margaret Mackay (University of Edinburgh)

Editorial and Advisory Board

Prof Alasdair MacDonald (University of Groningen)

Dr Jane Mallinson (University of Glasgow)

Prof Kirsteen McCue (University of Glasgow)

Dr Moira Harris (University of Glasgow)

Dr Morag Grant (University of Edinburgh)

and the Trustees